Lions celebrate two years of excellence

It was a true evening of excellence Saturday night at the Arrow and Loon Courtyard as nearly 200 memebers of the Ottawa Lions family gathered to celebrate two years of excellence at their Awards Banquet. In total, more than 65 individuals were honoured for their success on the track or their dedicated service to the club. Three of the big winners on the night included hammer thrower Sultana Frizell, runner Jason Dunkerley and decathlete Patrick Arbour, who were each recognized three times for their performances.
Over the past two years, Frizell has continued to excel in the hammer throw, first by winning silver at the 2011 Pan American Games and followed that up in 2012 with a North American Record of 75.04m and her second Olympic Performance. For her efforts, Sultana was named the Most Outstanding Field Event Performer for females for both 2011 and 2012, improving her career total to eight awards and one away from Ann Peel’s club record of nine. Frizell was also presented with a President’s Award, instituted in 1990 to honour athletes and coaches who have represented their country on a national team in international competition.
For his success on the track over 1500m and 5000m, Jason Dunkerley was awarded the Sam Estwick Memorial Award, honouring the club’s Most Outstanding Para Athlete, for both 2011 and 2012 . Like Frizell, this brought his total to eight outstanding athlete awards for his career. In 2011, Dunkerley claimed silver and bronze in the 1500m and 5000m respectively and the flipped the results in September at the Paralympics in London, running national records in both events. Adding to his international medal tally, Jason also picked up gold in the 800m at the 2011 IPC World Championships  in Christchurch, New Zealand.
Over the past four years, Patrick Arbour has positioned himself as one of the top field event athletes in club history.  He was recognized for his efforts on Saturday evening as he was named the most outstanding male the field events for both 2011 and 2012. This brought Patrick’s string of victories to four. The former thrower turned decathlete experienced a great amount of success over the past two seasons, highlighted by three national team appointments, including a Pan Am Combined Events Cup team title in 2012. In addition to his success in the decathlon, Arbour produced two all time top ten performances in 2012 in both the discus and pole vault, where he currently sits fifth and sixth respectively.  Currently, he is also ranked in the top ten in the shot put and javelin, making him the only male to be ranked in more than two field events.

A complete list of award winners is included below:

Most Outstanding Male Athletes

  Track Athlete Field Athlete
2012 Oluseyi Smith Patrick Arbour
2011 Oluwasegun Makinde Patrick Arbour

Most Outstanding Female Athletes

  Track Athlete Field Athlete
2012 Melissa Bishop Sultana Frizell
2011 Esther Akinsulie Sultana Frizell

The Denis Landry Memorial Award – Most Outstanding Athlete: uOttawa X-Country / Track & Field

  Male Female
2012 Sekou Kaba / Michael Robertson Jennifer Perrault
2011 Christopher Greenaway Michele Krech

Most Outstanding Junior Athlete (Under 20)

  Male Female
2012 Adam Palamar / Yves Sikubwabo Emma Galbraith
2011 Devin Biocchi Ashlea Maddex

Most Outstanding Youth Athlete (Under 18)

  Male Female
2012 Zach Kerr Charifa Labarang
2011 Adam Palamar Emma Galbraith

Most Outstanding Midget Athlete (Under 16)

  Male Female
2012 Geoff Lawson Hannah-Kelsey Smith
2011 Matthew Bedard Maggie Scheunert

Most Outstanding Bantam Athlete (Under 14)

  Male Female
2012 Not awarded Lauren Gale
2011 Eric Mitchell Colle Thompson

The Sam Estwick Memorial Award : Most Outstanding Para Athlete

2012 Jason Dunkerley
2011 Jason Dunkerley

Most Outstanding Masters’ Athlete (35 and over)

2012 Wendy Alexis / Lawrence Williams
2011 Wendy Alexis / Kevin Lake

Most Outstanding Athlete: Road Racer

2012 Josh Cassidy
2011 Dave Kary

Most Outstanding Athlete: Combined Events

2012 Mark Chenery
2011 Mark Chenery

Sean Cole Memorial Award: Dedication to club service

2012 Karen and Paul Bedard
2011 Reba Timbrell

President’s Award Winners

Gavin Smellie Sean Young Alister McQueen
Oluseyi Smith Ian Clark Jacqueline Rennebohm
Melissa Bishop Hugh Conlin Cody Boast
Sultana Frizell Amanda Fader Brian Cummings
Oluwasegun Makinde Robert Schrader Patrick Arbour
Glenroy Gilbert Michael Robertson Mark Chenery
Esther Akinsuile Devin Biocchi James Holder
Rachel Burrows Sekou Kaba Wendy Alexis
Josh Cassidy Ashlea Maddex Kevin Lake
Jason Dunkerley Emma Galbraith Rob Lindsay
Jon Dunkerley Denray Jean-Jacques Geoff Outerbridge
Brandon King Brandon Heroux Marta Piresferreira
Leah Robinson Noella Klawitter Bob Staveley
Curtis Thom Greg Dailey Ray Wardle
Andrew Heffernan Courtney Johnson Lawrence Williams
Josh Karanja