Record 17 Lions up for Provincial Awards

When Athletics Ontario released their annual list of provincial award nominees there was one recurring name that showed up more than any other – Ottawa Lions Track and Field Club. After being named AO Overall Club Champions for 2015, a record 17 Lion athletes were nominated for top athletes in sprints and hurdles, distance, jumps, throws and combined events.

Heading the list of nominees is none other than 800m World Championship Silver Medalist,Melissa Bishop. For her exploits on the track, Bishop is also the only female nominated for Overall Athlete of the Year along side World Champions Shawnacy Barber, Derek Drouin and fellow silver medalist Damian Warner. Should she be named the victor, the Pan Am Games Champion would become the first athlete in club bestowed with the honour.

Other Lions nominated for top honours include:

Lauren Gale – Midget Girls Sprints/Hurdles
Keira Christie-Gallow – Youth Girls Sprints/Hurdles
Sekou Kaba – Senior Men Sprints/Hurdles
Shona McCulloch – Youth Girls Distance
Claire Smith – Junior Women Distance
Erinn Stenman-Fahey- Junior Women Distance
Joe Fast – Bantam Boys Distance
Cashman Ford – Midget Boys Jumps
Steve Nkusi – Junior Men Jumps
Tanya Coulter – Youth Girls Throws
Sultana Frizell – Senior Women Throws
Tim Nedow – Senior Men Throws
Tanner Van Every – Youth Boys Combined Events
Patrick Arbour – Senior Men Combined Events
Josh Cassidy – Men Para Track
Jason Dunkerley – Men Para Track

The ceremony will take place Saturday, September 26, 2015 at the Toronto Don Valley Hotel & Suites.